Vampire Diaries Books in Order by Series, Publications, and Final Thoughts!

The world of this popular vampire series is vast and expansive so you’ll want to plan to read all the Vampire Diaries books in order.

The Vampire Diaries is about Elena Gilbert, a high school student. Soon, she finds herself caught between Damon Salvatore and Stefan Salvatore, two brothers. This may sound like a high school romance, or a love triangle, with all the twists and turns young teens experience through their teens.

However, readers soon discover that the brothers are centuries-old vampires. Vampire Diaries is perfect for those who love to read a lot and want to explore a compelling narrative that combines romance, drama, horror, and of course, vampires.


Vampire Diaries Books in Order by Series

The best way to read the Vampire Diaries books in order is by series. This is because there are 5 different series, all with many books that published around the same time. To keep the story together, you should read one series at a time.

  1. The Awakening (1991)
  2. The Struggle (1991)
  3. The Fury (1991)
  4. Dark Reunion (1991)

The Return Books

  1. Nightfall (2009)
  2. Shadow Souls (2010)
  3. Midnight (2011)

Stefan’s Diaries Books

  1. Origins (2010)
  2. Bloodlust (2011)
  3. The Craving (2011)
  4. The Ripper (2011)
  5. The Asylum (2012)
  6. The Compelled (2012)

The Hunters Books

  1. Phantom (2011)
  2. Moonsong (2012)
  3. Destiny Rising (2012)

The Salvation Books

  1. Unseen (2013)
  2. Unspoken (2013)
  3. Unmasked (2014)

Vampire Diaries Book in Order

Vampire Diaries Books in Order of Publication

While I’d strongly recommend you the Vampire Diaries books in order by series, I did want to offer this alternative reading method.

Why offer this suggestion?

Because some readers like to enjoy the world of their favorite series in the same way that original fans read them. L.J. Smith produced many books within the same year, but always a few months apart.

While original fans may have been willing to take whatever they could get by jumping from one series to the next, you may want to reconsider. However, if you’ve already read all of the Vampire books in order of series, this might be a fun way to spice things up for a re-read.

  1. The Awakening (1991)
  2. The Struggle (1991)
  3. The Fury (1991)
  4. Dark Reunion (1991)
  5. Nightfall (2009)
  6. Shadow Souls (2010)
  7. Origins (2010)
  8. Bloodlust (2011)
  9. Midnight (2011)
  10. The Craving (2011)
  11. Phantom (2011)
  12. The Ripper (2011)
  13. The Asylum (2012)
  14. Moonsong (2012)
  15. The Compelled (2012)
  16. Destiny Rising (2012)
  17. Unseen (2013)
  18. Unspoken (2013)
  19. Unmasked (2014)

Final Thoughts on Vampire Diaries

All in all, the Vampire Diaries books are intriguing and fun to read. The Vampire Diaries is a series of books that have sold over 100 million copies worldwide. It follows the lives, loves, and tribulations of Elena Gilbert, Stefan Salvatore, Damon Salvatore, and Katherine Pierce.

If you’re looking for a series that will keep your attention throughout, the Vampire Diaries should be on your list! Which way do you plan to read the Vampire Diaries books in order?

Till Then, keep yourself updated with all the latest news from our website

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top